By Bob Balgemann


One more candidate has been added to the field for the Nov. 8 general election lineup in Boone County.

Independent William Randall III filed during the June 20 through June 27 timeframe, ensuring that there will be competition for the District I seat on the county board.

Others in the running are incumbent Denny Ellingson, who’s concluding his first term, and former, longtime board member, Marshall Newhouse. Both are Republicans.

Also on June 29, the county board concurred with the recommended appointment of Democrat Jessica Mueller to a vacancy on the board in District III. A deputy assessor for Belvidere Township, she replaced Craig Schultz, who died unexpectedly on May 12, and will serve until the general election.

There are two Republicans in the race for two upcoming four-year terms in District III. They are former board member Marion Thornberry and newcomer Carl Larson.

In county board District II, incumbent Cathy Ward and newcomer, Dr. Bernard O’Malley, have been assured of winning four-year terms. Ward is a longtime member of the board while O’Malley currently sits on the Boone County Board of Health.

After the general election a new board chairman will be elected as Bob Walberg chose not to seek re-election in District I. The current vice chairman is Karl Johnson.

In other county competitions, challenger Tricia Smith edged two-term incumbent State’s Attorney Michelle Courier in the March 15 primary election, to win the Republican nomination. There is no Democratic or Independent opposition, so she has been assured of winning that four-year term.

Republican Rebecca Wigget now is formally unopposed for re-election as coroner. That also is true of Republican Linda Anderson, the current circuit court clerk. She was appointed last year following the resignation of Nora Ohlsen and won the GOP nomination by defeating Todd Shattuck in the March primary.

At the state level incumbent Rep. Joe Sosnowski, R-Rockford, is being challenged by Democrat Angelique Bodine, who lives in Candlewick Lake.

Incumbent U.S. Rep. Adam Kinzinger, incumbent state Sen. Dave Syverson, R-Rockford, and incumbent state Rep. Bob Pritchard, R-Sycamore, also are unopposed.

Nearby state Rep. Jack Franks, D-Marengo, has chosen not to seek re-election. He is hoping to become the first popularly elected chairman of the McHenry County Board. He recently was chosen by the county Democratic Party to attempt to fill that vacancy.

Also nearby, incumbent state Rep. John Cabello, R-Machesney Park, is unopposed in that House district.





Buy Viagra Overnight Delivery USA.