The Illinois State Board of Education has recognized Mr. Douglas P. Floski, President of the Byron Community Unit School District 226 with its prestigious Thomas Lay Burroughs Award as the School Board President of the Year for 2016. Mr. Floski received the award at the Annual Conference of the Illinois Association of School Boards, Illinois Association of School Administrators, and the Illinois Association of School Business Officials.

Mr. Floski’s many accomplishment on behalf of students, taxpayers, and District staff include the following: Service as Board President since 2011; Leadership of a Board committee structure for Quality Review, Buildings and Grounds, and Finance and Policy that has enhanced achievement of District initiatives; advancement of commuications opportunities with members of the District including presentations to Rotary, the Chamber of Commerce, financial forums, and strategic planning groups for Buildings and Grounds and Teaching and Learning; Leadership of a results-oriented model for decision-making including a 5-year financial forecasting model, enrollment-based staffing, and assessment of learning through student achievement information.

Mr. Floski has also admirably served the taxpayers of the District through his advocacy for a fair assessment of the Byron Nuclear Generating Station and for his efforts at advancing a fair salary and benefits schedule for all District employees.

On a personal level, Douglas P. Floski and his wife, Betsy, provide financial assistance for post-secondary educational opportunities to Byron High School students through the Floski Foundation.

In his work as President of the Board of Education, Mr. Douglas P. Floski has led the achievement of the District as follows:


  • The District has recorded its highest ACT scores ever for the graduating classes of 2015 and 2016.


  • The new PARCC (Partnership for Advancement of Readiness for College and Careers) examinations have placed Byron CUSD 226 with the 2nd-highest overall achievement among Illinois-Stateline Districts for 2015 and 2016.


  • The 2016 Illinois Report have placed Byron CUSD 226 with the highest pecentage of 8th-Grade students who achieved passing scores for Algebra 1, the highest college-readiness score (Based on the percent of students who completed the ACT examination with a score of 21 or greater), and the 2nd-lowest percentage of students who enroll in a community college and require the taking of remedial coursework prior to advancing on their courses of study.


  • The website rated Byron CUSD 226 as the 31st Best District in Illinois in comparison to 404 similar Districts; in 2016, Byron 226 was rated as the 45th Best District. Byron received an overall grade of “A”, ranking the District in the top 7 percent of Illinois school districts overall. Byron was ranked in the top 12 percent for teacher quality, top 9 percent for safety and top 11 percent among schools that are good for athletes. The District received grades of “A-” or better for Academics, Administration, Clubs and Activities, Health and Safety, Resources and Facilities, Sports, and Teachers.


Congratulations to Doug Floski on his recognition by the Illinois State Board of Education.


Mr. Douglas P. Floski, President of the Byron Community Unit School District 226, accepting the prestigious Thomas Lay Burroughs Award as the School Board President of the Year for 2016.

Buy Viagra Overnight Delivery USA.