Scholarships awarded to Hononegah High School students
By Marianne Mueller
Hononegah High School students were recognized for strong academic or athletic achievement along with other attributes that earned students scholarships. After a warm welcome by Principal Flohr Representatives from various organizations announced and presented Scholarships in various amounts to the following recipients on Thursday, May 16.

Prairie Hill Parent Staff Association Scholarship: Olivia Lawlor and Cole Thoren.

Prairie Hill District Greg Thorpe Athletic Scholarship: Andrew Wilson.

Prairie Hill Federation of Teachers #133 Scholarship: Olivia Lawlor and Ezra Lagow.

2019 Shirland School Graduating Scholar: Katie Karczewski and Owen Fehler-Kleparski.

Roscoe PTO Service Award: Hsing- Yng Louh; for outstanding community service.

Rockton PTO Service Award: Neshua Aguilar and Jessica Green.

Steve Stromquist Outstanding Science Student: Alicia Repka and Joshua Crull. This award was given by Science teacher Brian Zimmerman who reflected on the person Mr. Stromquist was and outlined the reasons the Steve Stromquist Outstanding Science Student means so much today.

Board of Education Scholarship: Matthew Freedlund.

Vets Roll Scholarship: Neshua Aguilar and Evan Benkovich. Each served as a volunteer assistant on this year’s Vets Roll Trip.

Moresco, Teeman, Hill Education Scholarship: Grace Peterson.

Hononegah Community High School Booster Club Scholarship: Carrie Anderson, Caitlin Fordell, Matthew Freedlund and Abbey Wishop.

Rosik Family Scholarship: Jessica Green. Hononegah Board of Education member, Sandy Fordell gave the background of the Rosik family who were major supporters of the high school and Booster Club. They were recognized for volunteering among other contributions to the betterment of the school.

Rosoce Lions Club Scholarship: Carrie Anderson, Kayla Eddy, Matthew Freedlund, Jessica Green and Alicia Repka.

Rock Energy Cooperative Scholarship: Emily McCabe and Brooke Gardner.

American Legion Riders Scholarship: Owen Fehler- Kleparski.

Walter Graham Post 332 Loomis Scholarship: Jalen Anderson. American Legion Post 332 Rifle Squad member Kary Krebs gave the background of Doc Loomis who was a community leader, and Principal at Hononegah High School. He was also a Charter member of the American Legion Post 332 who was dedicated to children and youth.

Stateline Chamber Ambassador Scholarship: Jalen Anderson, Ryan Bolin, Matthew Nowicki and Catherine Sharp.

Jaimie Cox Memorial Scholarship: Wyatt Simpson, and Sandra Skominas. This award was given in honor and memory of Officer Cox who lost his life while on duty. It was presented by Officer Cox’s wife.

Hononegah Woman’s Club Scholarship: Alicia Repka and Jessica Green.

Mercyhealth Community Scholarship: Carrie Anderson to pursue her future career as a Physician Assistant.

Hendricks CareerTek Dare to Dream Scholarship: Adam Bohn.

Rockton Volunteer Firemen’s Association Education Assistance Scholarship: Alison Lawrence. This award was given by Captain Tim Free of the Rockton Fire Protection District. Free encouraged recipient Alision Lawrence to keep up her learning and growing to gain experience, while remaining unselfish in the process.

Todd Hansmeier Memorial Scholarship: Kyle Wallace. This award was given in memory of former Hononegah Graduate, Todd Hansmeier whose life was taken too soon. His brother Brian spoke of this year’s Hans Brew Fest which is slated for Sept. 28. To date over $10,000 in Scholarship money has come in from the event. “This year’s winner faced the challenge of going to school with Autism,” Hansmeier said.

Elks Club Most Valuable Student Scholarship: Adam Bohn, Joshua Crull, Corinne Hoffman, and Alicia Repka. Each received a generous $1,000 Scholarship.

Girl Scout Council Scholarship: Caitlin Fordell. Fordell was honored for her work as a Scout and President of Mariner Troop #361.

William R. Brasky Business Scholarship: Evan Benkovich. The DeLong Company, Inc. Scholarship: Benjamin Hoffman, Corinne Hoffman, and Shelby Hoffman.

The Joe and Ann Chamberlain Music Scholarship: Ezra Lagow. American Association of University Women STEM Scholarship: Alison Lawrence, Hsing-Yng Louh, and Alicia Repka.

National Merit Scholarship: Alicia Repka.

Refreshments were served after all Scholarships were presented.

Buy Viagra Overnight Delivery USA.