By Bob Balgemann

At least one decision has been made well in advance of the April 2021 consolidated election in the village.

Village President Steve Johnson, also known as the mayor, has announced that he will seek re-election to a second term.

Others whose terms will be expiring next year are trustees Joe Seipts in District 1; James Kidd in District 3; and Aaron Wilson in District 4. That’s also true of Village Clerk Lori Mitchell, first elected in 2005, and Village Treasurer Deborah Alms, a recent appointee who replaced Bradley Robison. He resigned near the end of his first, four-year term.

In an announcement on Facebook, Mayor Johnson said that due to the coronavirus pandemic, he opted not hold a press conference to let people know of his decision.

“Since I became mayor in 2017, the village has experienced outstanding growth in retail, industrial, and residential areas,” he said in a statement. “Many existing companies have expanded their businesses, and several new businesses have chosen to call Machesney Park home.

“Our extensive infrastructure and road improvements are continuing to enhance the quality of life in Machesney Park.

“Financially, the village continues to maintain a balanced budget and has an unassigned fund balance of over 80 percent. I am please to also share that Machesney Park has received The Distinguished Budget Presentation Award from Government Finance Officer Association, for three consecutive years.”

While COVID-19 put things on hold, he said as the village enters Phase 4 of the Restore Illinois Plan, local business is once again picking up.

In conclusion, he said, “I feel that I have made a positive impact on our village in my first term, and I want to keep that momentum going for the next four years. I am excited to ask for the support of residents of Machesney Park as we work together to make this an even greater village.”

Before being elected as trustee and then mayor, Johnson served for 10 years as village treasurer.

He resigned in 2015 to run against incumbent Trustee Kate Tammen for the District 2 seat on the village board. He won with 315 votes, or 55.17 percent of those cast, to 256, or 44.83 percent, for Tammen. He resigned his board seat two years later to run for mayor against the incumbent, Jerry D. Bolin, who was concluding his first term in that position. Johnson won, 1,267, or 51.74 percent, to 1,182, or 48.26 percent, and now is wrapping up his first four years in that office.

Village board

Seipts first was elected in 2017, when he ran unopposed, and received 296 votes.

Kidd is finishing his second, four-year term. He initially was elected in 2013, edging Mike Meier, 208 (52.25 percent) to 190 (47.74 percent). His bid for re-election in 2017 resulted in a 244-193 victory over challenger Heather Kelley.

Wilson has yet to be opposed by anyone. He won as a write-in in 2013, stepping in when no one qualified by the deadline for a spot on the ballot. In that election he received 293 votes. He then was unopposed in 2017, in his bid for re-election, finishing with 481 votes.


Clerk Mitchell has held several statewide positions and won numerous awards since being elected to her first term in 2005, after retiring as staff and community relations director for Harlem School District 122.


Should Treasurer Alms decide to run for election, it would be for her first four years in that office.

Election process (subhed)

Clerk Mitchell said at this point, the state has not released any information about procedure for the upcoming consolidated election.

In Machesney Park, candidates usually start circulating their nominating petitions late in August, and then file them late in November.

Buy Viagra Overnight Delivery USA.