By Bob Balgemann


There will be elections April 4, 2017 for the Belvidere City Council, mayor, city clerk, and city treasurer; village boards, township boards, and school boards in Boone County. However, qualifying periods vary, with one of them already having been held and even that only is partially finished.

Here’s how it works.

The nine townships all will have elections for supervisor, clerk, assessor, highway commissioner, and board of trustees.

The first of two qualifying periods – for Republican candidates – was held in November. Next up will be qualifying for Independents and non-partisan candidates, from Monday, Dec. 12 through the close of business Monday, Dec. 19. The Democratic Party caucused for candidates earlier this month.

There will be a Republican primary in February 2017 in Belvidere Township.

Five candidates are vying for four upcoming four-year terms on the board of trustees. They are incumbents Kathy Grover, Richard Nelson, and Bob Turner along with Jim Culvey and Ron Wait. Among the candidates for road commissioner are Russell Moore, Nick Reininger, and Shane Treu. The longtime incumbent, Rich Lee, has decided not to run again.

Only one Republican qualified for each of the following positions:

Bill Robertson is qualified for supervisor. He was appointed last fall to fill out the unexpired term of Patrick Murphy, who died unexpectedly in office in September. Robertson was a member of the board at the time and is stepping down in order to run for supervisor. His four-year board term, along with those of Grover, Nelson, and Turner, will be up in April.

Longtime Township Clerk Judy Shabacker is unopposed at this point.

That also is true of Assessor Tami Torrence, who is finishing her first term in that position.

Next qualifying period

The Monday, Dec. 12 through Monday, Dec. 19 qualifying period affects the City of Belvidere, other townships, the Villages of Caledonia, Capron, Poplar Grove, and Timberlane, and School Districts 100 in Belvidere and 200 in North Boone.

Terms expiring in Belvidere include that of mayor, currently Mike Chamberlain, city clerk, currently Shauna Arco, treasurer, currently Ric Brereton, and aldermen Clint Morris in Ward I; Daniel Arevalo in Ward II; Tom Ratcliffe in Ward III; George Crawford in Ward IV; and John Sanders in Ward V.

Brereton announced earlier this year that he would be a candidate for mayor.

Two-term Village President Rod Fritz plans to seek another four years in Caledonia. That’s also true of Village Clerk Sue Pfaffinger and Village Treasurer Rae Duncan.

Trustees Bill Komerska and Hassell Byrd, appointed earlier this year to fill vacancies on the village board, plan to run for full four-year terms. However, there will be new openings as Trustee Marcia Miller moved away and Steve Barrack doesn’t intend to seek re-election.

Terms expiring in the Village of Capron are those of Village President JoAnne Cavalier and trustees Kim Gazda and Anna Kuzmiak. The positions of village clerk and village treasurer are appointed.

The Poplar Grove Village Board will have four new faces as incumbent Village President John Neitzel and incumbent trustees Don Bawden and Judi Zangs will not seek re-election. Plus, incumbent Trustee Owen Costanza is stepping down so he can run for village president.

Incumbent Village Clerk Martha Suhr, who’s held that position for 32 years, has not announced her plans.

A slate of candidates is hoping to fill four vacancies. They are Costanza for village president and Eric Miller, Sophia Ramdass, and Erin Walsh for trustees. Karri Anderberg is a candidate for village clerk.

Another possible candidate for trustee is Ed Wirting and one nominating packet for clerk also has been taken out.

In Timberlane, longtime Village President Steve Rapp plans to run again. Incumbent Village Clerk Debra Marmer also plans to seek re-election.

Trustee James Wherle, appointed to fill the unexpired term of Tom Michel, who moved away, plans to run for a four-year seat. Incumbent trustees Rod Stelling and Dixie Timmerman reportedly will not run again.

School District 100 offices up for election next year are board members Robert Torbert, Karla Maville, Stacy McGowan, and Kelly Diamond. Torbert currently serves as president; Mavinne as vice president; and McGowan as treasurer.

In School District 200 board terms expiring are those of Matt Ellingson, Tom Moon, Brian Reininger and Don Ward. Ellingson currently is board president; Moon is treasurer.

Each of the districts has a new superintendent.



Buy Viagra Overnight Delivery USA.